Sports personalities of Chhattisgarh

Sports personalities of Chhattisgarh

Name of Sport and Related Personalities


  1. Sanand Mitra


  1. Shute Banerjee
  2. Abhimanyu Chauhan
  3. Rajesh Chauhan
  4. Amandeep Khare
  5. Bhima Rao
  6. Harpreet Singh
  7. TP Sudhindra


  1. Leslie Claudius
  2. Saba Anjum Karim
  3. Renuka Yadav


  1. Rustam Sarang

Rustam Sarang

  • Rustam Sarang (born 12 December 1988) is an Indian weightlifter who placed seventh in the Men’s 62 kg weight class at the 2014 Commonwealth Games at Glasgow.

Renuka Yadav 

  • Renuka Yadav(born 18 July 1994) is an Indian female field hockey She has one of the youngest members of the national women’s team that qualified for Rio Olympics 2016.
  • She is from Rajnandgaon District of Chhattisgarh, which has also been called “the Hockey Nursery of India.” She is the second from Chhattisgarh to qualify for the Olympics, after Leslie Claudius. She is first woman from Chhattisgarh to qualify for Olympics.

Saba Anjum Karim

  • Saba Anjum Karim (born 12 June 1985, Durg) was a member of the Indian women’s hockey team. She was the youngest of all participants in hockey competition at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester.
  • She first played for India in under-18 AHF Cup in 2000. As a right wing forward, she has represented India in many other international tournaments like Asian Games Oct 2002, Asia Cup Feb 2004 Delhi, Commonwealth Games 2002 and 2006, Manchester, Junior World Cup May 2001, Buenos Aires and Australian Test Series and New Zealand Tour.
  • She hails from Kelabadi, Durg and is being coached by Tanveer Akil.
  • On 1 November, she was honored with Chhattisgarh’s top Gundadhur sports award. The annual award is given to a person who brings honor to state in the field of sports at national and international level.
  • The award is rewarded along with cash prize of Rs 1 Lakh and a citation. Govt of Chhattisgarh has been honoured her by giving posting in police department at the post of Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP). For year 2013, she is honored with Arjuna award by the president of India.
  • She was awarded Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian award of India, in 2015

Leslie Walter Claudius

  • Leslie Walter Claudius (25 March 1927 – 20 December 2012) was an Indian field hockey player from Bilaspur. He studied in South Eastern Railway(Now SECR) English Medium School Bilaspur which has produced many national sportsmen.
  • In 1971 he was awarded the Padma Shri.
  • Mention in the Guinness Book of World Records along with Udham Singh for having won the most number of Olympic medals in field hockey.
  • In 2011 The West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee presented the Bharat Gaurav award instituted by East Bengal Club to Leslie Claudius.
  • For the 2012 Olympics the Bushey tube station was renamed after Claudius in the special “Olympic Legends Map”. He was one of six all time hockey greats who were honored in this manner.
  • In 2012 he was awarded The Banga Bibhushan

Sanand Salil Mitra

  • Sanand Salil Mitra (born May 5, 1983) is the proprietor and owner of VAYAM -Visionaries & Entrepreneurs, an Indian archery pioneer organization.
  • An international archer and twice national gold medallist in archery, he is a state and national awardee with performances in the national archery circuit, since his debut in 2005

  • Maharaja Praveer Chandra Bhanja Deo Decoration by Chhattisgarh state for outstanding performance in Sports 2005.
  • The S.E.C.Railway GM’s Award for excellence in the field of Sports 2005.
  • The Award for Excellence in Sports by Rotary International, Chhattisgarh State 2005.
  • The S.E.C. Railway GM’s Award for excellence in the field of sports 2006.
  • The Award for Excellence in Sports at International Level by Chhattisgarh Yuva Manch, 2006.
  • Young Leader’s Award for international representation in the field of Sports by Yuva Nav Shakti, 2006.
  • “Entrepreneur of the year 2008”, Entrepreneur’s Council of Pune.
  • A 300-metre stretch of road in Bilaspur, named after him as “Sanand Mitra Marg”.
  • Sportsman of The Decade Award, Shyam Khel Sammaan, by Dainik Lokmaya, 2011.

Sarobindu Nath “Shute” Banerjee

  • Sarobindu Nath “Shute” Banerjee (3 October 1911, Kolkata, Bengal – 14 October 1980, Kolkata) was a cricketer who represented India in one official and five unofficial Test matches.
  • He was right-arm medium pace bowler and a lower order batsman.

TP Sudhindra

  • TP Sudhindra (born 24 April 1984) is an Indian First Class cricketer.
  • He is a right-arm medium pace bowler who bowls consistently at around 130 km/h and relies on accuracy, and bats left-handed. He is banned from taking part in any official cricket matches after being found guilty of spot-fixing in domestic matches.
  • He played Ranji Trophy for Madhya Pradesh and represented Delhi Giants and Deccan Chargers in the Indian Cricket League (ICL) and the Indian Premier League (IPL) respectively.

Rajesh Chauhan

  • Rajesh Chauhan (born 19 December 1966 in Ranchi, Bihar) is a former Indian cricketer who played in 21 Tests and 35 ODIs from 1993 to 1998.
  • He was part of the Indian spin trio of Kumble (Leg break) -Raju (Left arm orthodox)-Chauhan (Off break), in the 1990s.
  • Although his own contributions were only of limited value, India lost none of the 21 Tests in which he played. The record, for which he is perhaps remembered most for his last-over six off Saqlain Mushtaq at Karachi in 1997, which sealed a four-wicket win for India against Pakistan.
  • In April 2007 he was seriously injured in a car accident. He suffered multiple fractures as well as bruising on his leg, back, hand and head. He currently resides in Bhilai – Chhattisgarh running a business. He is now PRO in Bhilai Steel Plant.
  • His father Govind Raja Chauhan, who lived in Ranchi, was also a cricketer and played Ranji Trophy in 1957 & Duleep Trophy in 1964.
  • Their ancestral village is Vidi in Kutch and he belongs to a small community known as Kutch Gurjar Kshatriya.
  • Rajesh also served as Chairman of All-India Youth Wing of Kutch Gurjar Kshatriya community for years 1993–96 and is an active social member of the community
CGPCS Notes brings Prelims and Mains programs for CGPCS Prelims and CGPCS Mains Exam preparation. Various Programs initiated by CGPCS Notes are as follows:-

Subscribe to CGPSC Notes

Never Miss any CGPSC important update!

error: Content is protected !!